My First Kayaking Trip and Starting to Settle

15/09/2016

I had my first kayaking trip today! I’m so glad I didn’t end up backing out of it because I had so much fun and I got to meet quite a few people in my class. First of all I want to express how absolutely worn out I was by the end of the trip. We had been kayaking for close to three hours and since it was my first time I really struggled with tired muscles but it was worth it. I think it’s a sport/activity that I could see myself doing regularly for the scenery, fitness and general calmness of the activity. The lake we went on to was gorgeous and since the tide was out we were able to stop on some bankings to look for wildlife and plants. We did find two eels, a  few different types of crabs, a starfish and I found a baby jellyfish that had somehow worked its way into the river where the water was still salty. It was pretty exciting and being able to study in the field and enjoy an exciting bonding activity for my class and I was able to talk to a few of them thankfully and get to know the people I will be studying with for the next three years.

I’m pretty proud of how well I did for my first time and my anxiety seemed to lessen pretty quickly thankfully. At least now I know I can do it and I hope after this I will be less anxious to try new things like this.

Other than the kayaking it’s been a napping day since I was so worn out after it, I think after the pretty testing week I think I needed a slight rest to re-energize. Hopefully I will find some fun things to do over the weekend.

Be happy, healthy and hopeful
~AJ

Leave a Reply

