Trying To Stay Motivated

6/1/2017

Today’s morning mantra!
“Live in such a way that if someone spoke badly of you no one would believe it” ~Anon

I’m still learning, even after three months in the dorms I’m still trying to figure things out. I think at this point in my life I’ll always be learning now, learning how to live on my own and learning about myself and how I work. I’ve spent many years not really knowing myself because I’ve had to change so much and now it feels like I finally have the chance to really work on myself. I do worry a lot, even now as I try to stay positive I worry about myself and my abilities and whether my goals are even possible for me but at the same time, as I learn about how I work and where my strengths lay I do feel like slowly but surely my goals that I feel are far in the future may be even closer to being accomplished if I work hard.

Living on your own for university is weird, it’s like you have to learn everything all over again that you thought you knew when you lived with family or friends or wherever you lived previously. Thought you knew how to budget? Now you have to consider rent and food and school supplies. Thought you knew how to clean? Now you have to work your cleaning around a university schedule that barely lets you sleep. Thought you were good at managing your time? Suddenly everything needs you attention and your time is being split into tens of tasks that you have to finish before the weekend around classes and lectures and that pub crawl your dorm mate is forcing you to go to. I never really expected but when I arrived, but knowing just how much organisation you need to be a functioning university student still baffles me. Saying that though, I think it’s one of the best choices I made. It is hard and it feels like such an easy choice to just call it quits sometimes, but the adult life and the university life is a surprisingly fulfilling challenge.

I have been struggling with motivation recently, since around November I’ve felt that what’s the point in trying? I can’t manage my time well, I find it hard to revise and my brain just hates trying to focus. I am working on it but I’ve found you really do learn more about yourself in this particular stage of life. I want to do well this term, I really want to study abroad and I can only do that if I pass this year, so hopefully I will figure myself out with plenty of time to spare to get my grades up.

Finding motivation with so much going on feels pretty overwhelming but I am intent to do my best.

Be happy, healthy and hopeful
~AJ

Leave a Reply

